New Seven Deadly Sins

In the sixth century, Pope Gregory wrote up the seven deadly sins to manipulate people to come to confession during a time when no one was.

It’s been a long time since then, sin has changed. So the Vatican, under the auspices of Bishop Gianfranco Girotti of the Apostolic Penitentiary has drawn up a more modern seven deadly sins.

Out are: Envy, Gluttony, Lust, Anger, Sloth, and Greed

In are: Drug Abuse, Morally debatable experimentation, Environmental pollution, Causing Poverty, Social inequality and injustice, Genetic Manipulation, and Accumulating excessive wealth

This is not an easily memorizable list as the old one was. They also seem a tad ambiguous, but I guess that’s what sin is these days.

Forgive me Father for I have experimented in a morally debatable way.

2 thoughts on “New Seven Deadly Sins”

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: