The Bible’s Advice for What to do With Supid Politicians

The American government has been having some problem lately and much of it looks very childish. However, even in their most “adult” moments I typically disagree with everything they do.

I used to get into politics and pontificate on them, but I realized over the years that all political talk does is whip people up. We freak our side out with horror stories and then celebrate some victory on resolving an occasional issue we were freaked out about.

Up and down. Over and over.

I got tired. Couldn’t do it. I jumped off the political train, quit voting, quit pontificating and ignored it. It was swell.

Lately, however, government intrusion has interfered with my life. I am tempted to pontificate about politics, to care again, I even told my wife I might start voting again.

Then I saw this poll taken in the midst of the recent turmoil: Americans voted on what animal they would like to see maul congress. Leading the way was the grizzly bear.

“There was also strong support for the idea of Congress being set upon by a pack of rapacious animals, with rabid hyenas the first choice of many respondents, followed by feral dogs and cats.”

And, in case none of the options suited you, there was a choice 15% of Americans made to have congress “torn limb from limb by a grizzly bear or devoured by a pack of rabid hyenas is too good for these people. They should be eaten, very slowly, by a colony of hungry fire ants. Yes, that’s it—fire ants. That would be amazing.”

Wishing people were dead is not a good thing. Wishing people were killed in as torturous a manner as possible is not a good thing. I know this is an attempt at humor, but still.

Polls like this remind me why I checked out of the political fray. I don’t need to feel these emotions. So, I will spare you my political rantings and I will spare myself unnecessary emotional turmoil and will set my mind on things above and on the King of Kings.

“I exhort therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men;For kings, and for all that are in authority; that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and honesty.”

I imagine part of a quiet and peaceable life includes not wishing bears would pummel congressmen. Just a guess. Seek first the kingdom of God. Let the nations clamor for this world; the meek will get the good one to come.

___________________

Official Disclaimer:

(Yes, a Christians involvement in civil affairs is a huge issue. I know I did not cover that one point you wanted me to cover. Yes, I know I did not phrase everything the way you would have, nor did I emphasize the one thing the way you would have. This is not a personal affront to you. I am addressing a particular point in the subject, not the whole subject. If this blog irritates you then quit reading it. If you can say it better, wordpress.com offers free blog platforms for you to start your own blog and say what you want.)

2 comments

  1. Ruth Lammert

    It does seem that more positive actions are done individually than by govt programs. For decades, I voted for the least rotting and bloated carcass that could save this country. The idea of dropping out of the political turmoil (which is vanity and vexation of spirit, to quote Ecclesiastes) to simply follow Christ in a quiet and peaceable life is wonderful!

  2. Pingback: Manchester Times - Bonnaroo, News, Newspaper, Sports, Business, Entertainment, Engagement, Obituary, Births, Government, Football, Basketball, Baseball, Soccer in Manchester Tennessee, TN