The Point of the Anti-Itch Meditation

What is the “Anti-Itch Meditation?”

It is clever, I’ll give you that! When I first thought of it I almost died laughing. But it’s not just clever, it also means something. Under my blog title it says: “2 Timothy 4:3. Doing my God-given duty to not tell you what you want to hear.”

2 Timothy 4:3 in the KJV says, “For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears.”

Eventually, church will become a place of entertainment, a place to get our itching ears scratched, just tell us what we want to hear.

A prophet doesn’t tell people what they want to hear, nor what he thinks they need to hear, but rather, a man of God tells people what God wants people to hear.

The only way to do this is to constantly use the Word of God, the Bible, to confront mankind. Jesus was great at this. He was always quoting Scripture and frequently bringing up the most annoying verse He could possibly come up with.

It does not surprise me that people disagree with me on my blog, it’s kind of my point. However, it is not my point to get people to agree with me! I may not be right. It is my point to make sure people know what they believe.

I poke things, I listen to the response. I doubt I’ll change your mind, but I bet I can get you to think about stuff! That’s my hope and I trust that getting you to think about stuff leads you to God’s Word.

I love God’s Word and I want everyone to love it too. Especially because the Word is living and is Jesus Christ! He’s the only way to the Father. Think on the Word. Base everything on that.

One comment