New Covenant Life

Jeremiah 7:23 says, “obey me and I will be your God.” We rejoice that we are not under the old covenant with this one! “Praise God, He’s my God whether I obey Him or not! Amen.”

Here’s the deal, that’s not exactly accurate.

The Old Covenant was not sufficient so a better covenant was brought in, according to Hebrews. “Obey me and I will be your God” is a fine Old Covenant statement. But let’s note carefully the nature of the New Covenant!

“I will put my law in their inward parts, and write it in their hearts; and will be their God, and they shall be my people.”

The Old Covenant had a letter written in stone, the New Covenant has a letter written in the heart. God makes us be who He wants us to be–we be His people, He be our God.

This isn’t because disobedience is suddenly fine. It’s because God’s provision is so wonderful and complete. There is not an external law of judgment but an internal operation of the Spirit to lead us into doing God’s will.

Obedience is literally second nature–the fruit of the new nature from regeneration. This is life, peace, freedom and happiness.

“Who also hath made us able ministers of the new testament; not of the letter, but of the spirit: for the letter killeth, but the spirit giveth life.”

The ministry of death is removed and replaced with the ministry of righteousness and life. This is who God’s people are.

3 comments

  1. Paul Walton

    Great insights Jeff, God’s glory is so reflected in His grace, I’m so glad He doesn’t see me as His enemy, but as His son through adoption. I deserved death, and He gave me His Life, no one will be able to stand before God, and say that He isn’t just in His judgement. We deserved hell for our rebellion against Him and His laws, but instead of punishing us, He punished His Son in our place, what grace, what mercy.

  2. jeff

    Inspiration for this post and a few others goes to Andrew Murray and his book “The Two Covenants.”